Friday, November 24th, 2017 11:44 PM

NOBEL PRIZE Award 2017 Physics Goes to the ‘DISCOVERY that shook the World’

NOBEL PRIZE Award 2017 Physics Goes to the ‘DISCOVERY that shook the World’SocialWorld


LIGO Black Hole Researchers – CONGRATULATIONS!

Rainer Weiss, Kip Thorne and Barry Barish are the honourable names of the genius who were rewarded with the Nobel prize in Physics on 3rd October 2017 at Royal Swedish Academy of Sciences in Stockholm for the discovery of ripples in space-time known as gravitational waves, which were initially predicted hundreds of years ago by Albert Einstein.

While the announcement was made, the words to welcome such brilliant minds called it “THE DISCOVERY  THAT SHOOK THE WORLD.”

LIGO – The Laser Interferometer Gravitational-Wave Observatory research was headed by Dr Weiss, 85, Dr Throne, 77, and Dr Barish, 81. Rainer Weiss is a professor at the Massachusetts Institute of Technology, and Kip Thorne and Barry Barish, both are of the California Institute of Technology.

On winning this Nobel Honor this is what the winners said:

Dr. Weiss said that he considered the award as recognition for the work of about a thousand people over “I hate to say it — 40 years.” He added that when the first chirp came on Sept. 14, 2015, “many of us didn’t believe it,” thinking it might be a test signal that had been inserted into the data. It took them two months to convince themselves it was real.

Dr. Thorne said that as the resident theorist and evangelist on the project he felt a little embarrassed to get the prize. “It should go to all the people who built the detector or to the members of the LIGO-Virgo Collaboration who pulled off the end game,” he said.“An enormous amount of rich science is coming out of this,” he added. “For me, an amazing thing is that this has worked out just as I expected when we were starting out back in the 80s. It blows me away that it all come out as I expected.”

Dr. Barish said he had awoken at 2:41 am in California and when the phone didn’t ring he figured he hadn’t won. Then it rang. “It’s a combination of being thrilled and humbled at the same time, mixed emotions,” he said. “This is a team sport, it gets kind of subjective when you have to pick out individuals.” LIGO, he said, is very deserving. “We happen to be the individuals chosen by whatever mechanism.”

This winning research was a victory lap for an investment of 40 years that shook the world. Other Nobel Prize award winners are “Jeffrey C. Hall”, “Michael W. Young” for Nobel Prize in Medicine in the discovery of molecular mechanisms controlling the body’s circadian rhythm.
2016 Nobel Prize winner in Physics were “David J. Thouless”, “F. Duncan M. Haldane” and “J. Michael Kosterlitz” for research into the bizarre properties of matter in extreme states, including superconductors, superfluids and thin magnetic fields.

Read this also:

Innovation and Research, Base of Heritage

RAW: The Unknown Information You Always Needed To Know!


Follow Us

Yop Polls

नोटबंदी का एक वर्ष क्या निकला इसका निष्कर्ष

Young Blogger

Dont miss



यूथ से जुड़ी इंट्रेस्टिंग ख़बरें पाने के लिए सब्सक्राइब करें